UAlberta Classics

Home » Kallithea » Field Trips » Archaeological Family, by Adam Wiznura

Archaeological Family, by Adam Wiznura

When I first decided to go to an archaeological dig in Greece my first thought was that I knew no one there and was worried it would be a difficult few weeks. However it was clear after one day, having met the people on the dig and the people in the village, that it was clear the trip would be great. All the students as well as the teachers have all been very friendly making each and every day utterly enjoyable. Whether it’s joking around during meals, talking while working or enjoying day trips together, every moment of this trip has been more than I could have asked for. The best part about the day trips to places like the site of Soros, is that all the students are interested and want to explore the site. Every student, volunteer and teacher is approachable with any question I may have. There is never a time when I feel like I am doing this course alone as there many others I can now call friends who help me through it. Joking around with others while many of us experience archaeological field work for the first time is a reason this is the first time in my life I can say I truly enjoy working while going to school.

Adam's visit of Kastro Kallithea

Adam’s visit of Kastro Kallithea

Our group has people with a wide range of interests, from history to archaeology, and with a wide range of experience – beginners like myself to those who have been at Kallithea for years. It has been exciting to hear from each of them. I am gaining a range of views and a wealth of experience. My most memorable learning experience was doing the quantification and placing together of pottery.

Daily work on the archaeological journals

Daily work on the archaeological journals

It made me feel so rewarded to be able to make thousands of pieces of little sherds turn into an actual vessel before my eyes. Yes it took patience at first but learning what to look for and being able to do it myself was amazing. There is so much more to experience and so much more to learn. This study has just wet my appetite for more. I can’t think of a better school experience than the one I am currently going through and there is no doubt in my mind that I want to be right back in Narthaki next year.

Adam Wiznura

 

1 Comment

  1. Cathie Kovacik says:

    Dear Adam,
    It sounds like you are having an amazing experience. It sounds like you have truely found passion in your work, which is a rare gift.
    See you when return home.
    Love,
    Auntie Cathie

Leave a Reply

