UAlberta Classics

Home » Kallithea » From Undergrad to Grad: My Continuing Adventures in Greece, by Karey Rodgirs

From Undergrad to Grad: My Continuing Adventures in Greece, by Karey Rodgirs

Image

This is my third year at the Kastro Kallithea Archaeology Project. The first year was my first experience with archaeology and the friends I made that year are, to this day, still some of my very favorite people. In my second season I managed to come back to the project as a researcher to study the cooking ware pottery found on site. The opportunity to learn both the skills of excavation and of pottery analysis and quantification was truly incredible and actually quite rare for an undergraduate student. Now, it is the summer before I begin my M.A. in Classical Archaeology at the UofA and I’m back to continue working on the cooking ware. We work long hours, but the food is amazing and the people (some of whom are my best friends!) are smart, funny, and welcoming. Kallithea has become a major part of my life and my education and I’ll be back every year to continue my work (as long as they’ll have me)!

Image

The Walls of Proerna

 

Probably the best thing about life here in Greece is getting to explore Thessaly on the weekends. Sunday is adventure day and we all pile into a van to visit various sites and museums. This year we visited some really cool sites that are not easily accessible by tourists. We had to climb through tunnels of brush normally only travelled by goats and cows or up hills in pasture lands to find ancient walls and the remains of ancient life—sometimes the coolest places to visit are the ones that are the hardest to get to, and along the way we get to see the beautiful countryside and lovely towns and people of modern Thessaly. Field trips really help us to gain an appreciation for the history of the region and of its modern character. Also, the landscape makes for truly epic profile photos!

– Karey Rodgirs

Image

Just another day of exploring!

Leave a Reply

